Temptation

September 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm 1 comment

Lately I have been very discouraged by my weight-loss efforts (or lack of weight loss). I love to bake, but then I also love to eat (lots) of what I bake. Hubby and I love to eat out, but I never have the will-power to say “NO CHEESEBURGERS!!!” And pizza…don’t get me started on that! At least once a week we get invited over to my parents house for dinner and a lot of the time we have pizza. I love it. It loves to stick to my belly. Grrr.

Let’s not forget candy. I like candy. Not so much chocolate and especially not things like smartees….but anything like licorice, Dots, Good ‘n Plenty, Mike and Ike’s, and Hot Tamales, I enjoy those the most.

Take a look at the TEMPTATION that sits on the desk right next to mine (about 6 feet away) and is ALWAYS full.

 100_1493

I find myself grabbing a piece and eating it without really realizing it. By the end of the day, I will see several wrappers in my trash can and feel absolutely disgusted with myself. I am embarking on a new mission to stay out of the candy bucket (it’s huge! It’s one of those animal cracker tubs from Sam’s or Costco.)

Why am I obsessing over this? Well, I want to lose weight and be healthy, but it’s really a vanity issue that has taken over my brain this week. My parents are taking my entire family  (me, hubby, 2 sisters and their boyfriends) to Florida/Disney World the week before Christmas. I NEED to be able to fit into my summer clothes from two years ago because where am I going to buy shorts/tank tops/swimsuits in MICHIGAN in DECEMBER? (Plus, I really can’t afford to buy new clothes!)

I guess this is as good a motivator as anything. Hubby even seems motivated….We’ve been walking 2 miles together every night after dinner (and it was HIS idea!).

I CAN DO THIS!

What tips do you have for keeping out of those things that tempt you the most? How do I “build up” will-power?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Amazing Fall Flavors

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sandra  |  September 27, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I ran across your blog looking for reviews for EOS lip balm. I like how you write and I know the struggle with the candy jar. Although the ones at my work always contain chocolate which is my down fall. And the brought in baked goods table is right by my desk so it is constant temptation! Now, I just don’t even look in the direction of known goodies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


