Gnu Bars

September 6, 2009 at 8:00 am 2 comments

A few weeks ago,  received a package of Gnu Bars from Gnu Foods. These bars come in 7 different flavors, each bar has 12 grams of fiber and they are only 2 Weight Watcher’s points each! These bars are sweetened with fruit juice, are vegan, and are made with organic whole wheat flour!

I loved these bars for an afternoon snack because they are filling and held me over until dinner and had a sweet taste that satisfied my afternoon sweets craving. If you haven’t checked these out you need to!

100_1253

I tested all seven flavors, and there was only one that I really did not care for. I love the crunch from the different seeds used in these bars! And I love that they do not stick to the wrapper when you open them up!

Esspresso Chip– This bar smelled like Starbucks when I opened the package and it looked like a no-bake cookie…I had high hopes for it! The bar had a nice texture (as did all the flavors!), it was not sticky but not dried out, either! I love the crunch from the different seeds used in these bars! There was a strong coffee taste with little chocolate and a definate coffee aftertaste. This was my least favorite…probably because I’m not a coffee drinker!

100_1256

Banana Walnut– I loved this flavor. It would be great for satisfying a banana bread craving, yet it didn’t taste just like banana bread. It had a nice “tangy” taste, probably from the fruit juice! Very good!

(I think my camera ate this picture…it was that good!)

Peanut Butter– This bar smelled like peanut butter and kind of like a bottle of vitamins (?!?!). It was fruity and peanut buttery at the same time, which I wasn’t to fond of at first, but by the end of the bar, I enjoyed the flavor combinations.

100_1269

Cinnamon Raisin– This was probably one of my favorites. It tasted just like a fresh oatmeal cookie (maybe I should try warming one of these up in the microwave?). Definately would recommend this flavor!

100_1276

Orange Cranberry– I’m not a huge orange fan (unless they are fresh) but this one was good. It smelled and tasted like orange juice. I would love a little bit more cranberry flavor…the orange was a little overpowering.

100_1301

Chocolate Brownie- This one taste kind of like a Chocolate Brownie Z Bar, only a little bit denser, chewier, and with a fruity taste under the chocolate. Not my favorite, but not bad.

100_1319

Lemon Ginger– This bar was really good. I didn’t try it unti last because I am not a huge ginger fan. It smelled like fresh lemons, and seemed to be a little more “cake-like” than the other flavors. There was a nice, mild citrus taste with a little ginger “kick” in the aftertaste. I don’t know why I was “scared” of this one!

100_1340

Definately try out these bars….especially if you are looking for a lower calorie bar that will still keep you full!

Thanks, Gnu Foods!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Amazing Stuffed Mushrooms 2 Years!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ethan feinberg  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    You should visit healthysnacksdirect.com if you love GNU bars, there are so many other great options to choose from and the prices are really competitive. Have a great day

    Reply
    • 2. Moishe  |  July 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      healthysnacks.com are crooks♦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


