Amazing Stuffed Mushrooms

September 4, 2009 at 7:56 am 21 comments

I made these yummy stuffed mushrooms for dinner last night. They are very easy, healthy, and hubby actually requests them (he never requests the healthy foods!).

Stuffed Portabello Mushrooms

1/2 cup onion, finely chopped
1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
3 cups fresh spinach, chopped (the smaller the chopping, the better!)
1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic
3/4 cup cooked whole-wheat couscous
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup crushed tomatoes in olive oil with italian spices
4 large portabello mushrooms, stems and gills removed

Heat oven to 450*. Spray a baking pan with cooking spray and place mushrooms in it, tops down. In a large skillet coated with olive oil-flavored cooking spray, over medium  heat, cook onions, garlic, and thyme until onions are tender. Add spinach, cook for 1 minute or until wilted. Remove from heat; stir in couscous, Parmesan cheese and tomatoes. Mound mixture into mushrooms. Lightly coat with cooking spray and bake 15 minutes. Makes 4 servings.

IMG_5959

These are amazing! I served them with some smoked sausage, a plum, and some Cabot reduced fat cheddar cheese. So good!

IMG_5957

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

A Good Day Gnu Bars

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nomagicjeanie  |  September 4, 2009 at 9:15 am

    HI ! I just stopped by your blog via Iowa Girl Eats. I only got to read a couple posts because if I don’t stop reading food blogs I will not get to the gym this morning!
    I liked the idea of a fitness bucket list! I may have to try that for inspriation and to set more fitness goals! Thanks for posting that!
    I’ll definitely be back to read more! Your mushrooms look fantastic!

    Reply
  • 2. Scott  |  September 4, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks for the tasty idea! At our house we are constantly exploring new food choices. Stuffed mushrooms are a delight but the couscous is a great little twist I hadn’t thought of before.

    it all looks great. preparing next week!

    Reply
  • 3. Cellina  |  September 4, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Your story really inspires me. I’ve also struggled with keeping myself healthy and in-shape while balancing the fact that I am a real foodie who could eat all day (if someone let me). Enjoy your travels and that awesome marathon you’re going to run!

    Reply
  • 4. hellorissy  |  September 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Found your blog randomly and this looks really good 🙂 I’m vegetarian, so I think I’ll try this out. Portabellos are my favorite and mm I love cheese lol

    Reply
  • 5. TB  |  September 4, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    just came across this page and i must say… those mushrooms look deeeeeeelicious!! keep up the good work! sláinte!

    Reply
  • 6. Yummy Mushrooms « Paneful's Blog  |  September 4, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    […] Amazing Stuffed Mushrooms Leave a Comment […]

    Reply
  • 7. paneful  |  September 4, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    You have me drooling!! I always have liked Portobellos since the first time I’ve tried them, and just can’t get enough. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. vampiregran  |  September 4, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Your mushroom recipe looks delightful. And it is totally vegetarian so I must give it a try. Lots of luck and happiness on your journey to healthy eating. It’s a lot of fun and tasty, too!

    Reply
  • 9. QueenCuisine  |  September 4, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Looks great! Love portobello’s!!!

    Reply
  • 10. emielli  |  September 4, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I just came across your blog and I can’t wait to try this recipe. My boyfriend loves stuffed mushrooms, and I have a lot of couscous that I need to start using, so this recipe is perfect.

    Reply
  • 11. agent58  |  September 5, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Wow, that sounds and looks great!
    http://fiestamovement.com/agents/view/58

    Reply
  • 12. sheila  |  September 5, 2009 at 10:43 am

    dear becci,
    you already are beautiful. sounds like you have a great Mom and husband and your writing is terrific. it’s a cinch that the people around you already know how wonderful you are. so start treating yourself like your best friend, with love and respect. look to the positive, you are beautiful. pictures don’t lie, so treat youself like you would your best friend, because you are your best friend. and good luck with these great recipes. the mushrooms were fabulous. thanks
    sheila

    Reply
  • 13. steven j toce  |  September 5, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    makes me hungry

    Reply
  • 14. livvyjane  |  September 5, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Those look utterly delish! I hadn’t thought of stuffing mushrooms w/ couscous- sounds amazing!

    Reply
  • 15. wine blog  |  September 6, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Wow looks amazing! Might have a glass of textured white wine like viognier perhaps or a crisp style Chard might work too. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 16. so-what-is-a-blog-anyways | 06 | 09 | 2009 | blog-test  |  September 6, 2009 at 3:06 am

    […] I’m An Angry Dieter […]

    Reply
  • 17. theprettyproject  |  September 6, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    THESE LOOK SO AMAZING! 🙂

    http://WWW.THEPRETTYPROJECT.COM

    Reply
  • 18. anitramarie  |  September 6, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    mmm…those mushrooms look tasty!

    Reply
  • 19. CheapAppetite  |  September 7, 2009 at 12:02 am

    This looks really good and healthy. I like mushrooms. They are easy to cook with. In fact, I just wrote about Green Curry mushrooms recipe on my blog this week. Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply
  • 20. Jack  |  September 7, 2009 at 12:16 am

    That looks great!

    Reply
  • 21. Kim Ian  |  January 1, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Cool site love it…!!! you should keep on posting boss.. =D
    haha

    guys check out my site its about top ten mosts http://topten10most.blogspot.com/ =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


