Doing Pretty Good

August 24, 2009 at 3:43 pm 1 comment

Another weekend flew by! I did fairly well keeping track of my eats this weekend, and I have been using my handy dandy points tracker spreadsheet….I can do this!

This weekend we had a party for August birthdays on hubby’s side of the family, but I made a yummy, healthy pasta salad to take and I ate mostly that! We did get a pizza Saturday night, but I just used up my 35 “weekly” points on that. I just need to stay in the “groove” of counting points (or at least making an effort to eat healthy/be aware of points values!).

I also had two pesky puppies that would not get out of my car (which is incredibly dirty, thanks to living on a dirt road!) on Saturday. I had the door open and they jumped right in and wouldn’t get out….not even for treats or peanut butter filled pretzels! I finally gave up and left the doors open and went in the house. About 45 minutes later, they decided it was time to come in.

100_1288

Today, in addition to tracking my eats, I did day one of my “new” running plan. I combined a few 5k, 10k, and 1/2 marathon plans to make one big timeline to get me through until May and TORONTO! I know that’s planning a long ways out, but if I have the spreadsheet hanging up and can cross off days, I am more likely to stick with it. My biggest concern is the upcoming winter months. Winter here in Central Michigan can be brutal. If anyone has any cold/snowy/icy weather training tips to pass along, I would really appreciate it!!! I may be able to borrow my parents treadmill for the winter, but I would still like to go outside as much as possible.

Onto today’s eats! I was very excited to pack my lunch today because my mom got me a new Built NY lunchbox!!!

100_1291

Breakfast was blueberry pie oats

 100_1292

Snack was a white peach and a apple pie Larabar

 100_1293

100_1294

Lunch was some leftover pasta salad (I need to remember to bring that recipe with me and post it!), a veggie burger with salsa, a cucumber half, and a dino egg plum.

100_1298

100_1297

100_1299
Snack was a cranberry orange Gnu bar and a few (unpictured, but points counted!) peanut M&M’s.

 100_1300

Tonight for dinner I will be having a kidney bean burger on an Arnold Thin bun, corn on the cob, and some fruit.

Day one of the master running plan was “Walk 30-60 minutes”. Talk about specific….not so much! I headed out at lunch did a brisk 41 minute walk. At one point I probably jogged about a 1/2 mile of that, just because I felt like it!  Tomorrow is a 1.75 mile run, which I am nervous about…I haven’t really gone that far in awhile, so I realize I may have to take a few mini walk breaks, and I’m okay with that.

 100_1296

It feels so good to have a plan and some structure back in my life!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

A New Day It’s Only Tuesday?!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


