Zucchini Blueberry Bread

August 12, 2009 at 8:00 am Leave a comment

Last week when I was having my bad day, I baked. Not a healthy recipe, but oily, sugary, baking. Boy did it feel good!

I don’t feel too bad, though, because remember this monster? I shredded him up and used part for this recipe and froze the rest. This monster zucchini gave me 7 1/2 cups of shredded zucchini…that’s a lot!

 IMG_5940

IMG_5941

IMG_5942

Okay, here’s the recipe….but you have been warned….THIS IS NOT HEALTHY!!!!

Zucchini Blueberry Bread

3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract (or one big “glug” straight from the bottle)
2 1/4 cups white sugar (I used 1/2 white and 1/2 loosley packed brown)
2 cups shredded zucchini
3 cups all-purpose flour (I used 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon cinnamon
3 cups fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350*. Lightly grease 4 mini loaf pans (I used 2 regular sized loaf pans, you just need to increase the cooking time by about 20 minutes). In a large bowl, beat together the eggs, oil, vanilla and sugar. Fold in zucchini. Beat in the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. Gently fold in the blueberries. Transfer to prepared pans. Bake 50 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly before removing from pans and cutting.

* I think you could probably “healthify” this by using half oil and half applesauce and reducing the sugar a little bit.

IMG_5948

 

100_1173

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

I’m Outta Here! EOS Lip Balm Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


