Crockpot Granola

July 30, 2009 at 9:00 am Leave a comment

This week for Amy’s Weekly Challenge, we had to make a dish featuring a whole grain. I decided to try my hand at homemade granola in the crockpot. 

100_1070

Crockpot Granola

6 cups rolled oats
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1/3 cup agave nectar (My first time using this! You could also use honey or maple syrup or a combination)
1/4 cup melted butter (I used an I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter baking stick)
2 Tbsp flax seeds
2/3 cup slivered almonds*
2/3 cup dried cranberries **
1/4 cup shredded coconut

*You could use any nut in any amount…get creative!
**You could use any dried fruit. I used cranberries, mango, papaya, kiwi, and pineapple. I had little leftovers of each! Get creative with these!

Put all dry ingredients in crockpot (which should be at least 4 quarts!).  Melt the butter in the microwave. Add butter and agave to dry ingredients. Toss well. (Note: This granola will be cereal-like…not clumpy like trail mix. You will need to add a lot more butter and sweetener to get it clumpy)

Cover crockpot with lid, but stick something (like a chopstick or thin spoon) under the lid to vent. Cook on high for 3-4 hours (unless you have a nuclear crockpot like me…then it only takes two hours before it starts to burn), stirring every so often. If you can smell the granola, you need to stir it. This will burn!!

Store in an air tight container in the refrigerator. This type of granola would be a great topper for yogurt or ice cream. This is definately not a crockpot recipe that can be left unattended!

I don’t think this is my favorite granola (or maybe it was just because it was well on it’s way to being extra done…like I said….nuclear crockpot). I think next time, I would wait until about half way through to add the coconut and fruit. The coconut was very crispy at the end!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Monster!!! Sorry!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


