Half Way

July 29, 2009 at 1:14 pm 1 comment

Well…halfway to the weekend! Yay!

Last night for dinner I made whole wheat waffles. I have used the waffle recipe out of the original Betty Crocker cookbook for my entire life (my mom uses it too.) Recently I started switching in 1/2 whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and lo-and behold….hubby likes them BETTER than the original. So, back to dinner last night. I made the waffles, but for some reason they were flat and soggy. I rechecked the ingredients list and I did not leave anything out. The only thing I came up with is that this is my first time making these in our “new” house which does not have air conditioning. It was very very warm and HUMID last night. Would that make a big difference? Here’s the real kicker….hubby was on his third (yes third!) waffle when he stops with his fork half way up and says, “Honey, these are the best waffles you’ve ever made.” I don’t know that I will be able to make soggy, flat waffles all the time just to make him happy!

On to today:

Breakfast: Oatmeal+raisins+brown sugar

100_1050

Snack: Quaker Oatmeal Squares

100_1052

Lunch: GIANT salad (lots of veggies to use up before they went bad!)
Spring mix lettuce
Romaine lettuce
1/2 green pepper
Fresh (although cooked) green beans
Blueberries
Dried cranberries
Flax Seed
Fat free feta cheese
Hard boiled egg
Reduced fat Catalina dressing

100_1047

100_1048

Grapes

100_1043

Peanut butter filled pretzels

100_1045

Snack: White chocolate macadamia nut Clif Bar

100_1053

Dinner: I forgot to get meat out, so it might be homemade pizza

Going for a run tonight…..Hoping to run 2 ENTIRE miles with no walking. My legs are still stiff from Monday, but running seems to loosen them up. That first 1/4 mile or sore is just a little painful!

 

Great news! I just found out that my BEST FRIEND from college is coming to visit me 2 weeks from today! She lives about three hours away and I haven’t seen her since my WEDDING on 09-08-07! She will be staying with me for 3 days, so that means a 5 day weekend for me! Can’t wait! (I’m sure there will be some bad food choices, but I need to not obsess about it, just be smart and not overindulge!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Road ID Monster!!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. leslie  |  July 29, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    yum! i have been munching on my pb filled pretzels all day! they are dangerous!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


