Changes

July 27, 2009 at 3:05 pm Leave a comment

Since I am still trying to decide if I am crazy for attempting the whole 1/2 marathon thing, I’ve decided a few changes are in order. First of all, to get motivated for all this running I’m about to do, I dug out my copy of Dawn Dais’ The Non Runner’s Marathon Guide for Women. I read this book when I first started running about 1.5 years ago, and it is so inspirational (and funny!). If she can run a marathon, I an run a 1/2 marathon!!!

Next, I’ve decided to keep a written “journal” in addition to this. It makes sense to me since I don’t have any internet access at home, and I will be doing most of my running after work. I know I am going to want to jot down emotions, fueling ideas/failures, times, distances, etc. Plus, if I have a book, I can go back and reread about how far I have come when I am freaking out while on the train to Toronto.

I have also recommitted to losing weight/healthy living. I am trying to get in touch with my hunger. When I am at work I think I “need” to eat every few hours…but I don’t think I am even hungry most of the time. It is just habit.  I am trying to listen to my body more. (No morning snack today…I wasn’t hungry!)

On to today’s eats: No pictures today, I left my camera at home….

 Breakfast: Oatmeal with raisins, brown sugar and a chopped up Saturn Peach

Snack: NONE….wasn’t hungry!

Lunch: Spring mix salad with blueberries, dried cranberries, hard boiled egg, fat free Feta cheese, and reduced fat Catalina dressing

1/2 of a green pepper

10 peanut butter filled pretzels

Russel Stovers Chocolate Square

Snack: Grapes

Dinner: Tonight we are going to have BLT’s made with turkey bacon, fresh green beans, salad and watermelon.

I am going to go for a run tonight. It has been a long time, I doubt I will get over a mile. But, that’s a mile more than I did yesterday. I need to start somewhere, and I am (almost) completely starting over with my mileage. I CAN DO THIS!

This weekend I began telling people (not just bloggy friends!) about my half marathon. My family is really supportive (although none are willing to run with me…go figure), and my mom asked me what she can do to support/help me with this. I am not raising money for a charity with this race, and I don’t think they will be making the trip to Toronto with me, so I really didn’t know what to say.

How have your friends and family supported you when you have been training for a big race?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Friday. Ouch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


