Cookies!!

July 20, 2009 at 10:18 am Leave a comment

I tried a new cookie recipe this weekend, and they turned out very yummy. The consistency was more muffin-like than cookie-like, but they were a good, hearty cookie. I adapted this recipe from a Cooking Light recipe.

Banana-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 2 medium)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened (I used an I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter stick)
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 eggs
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
4 cups old fashioned oats
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (my chocolate chip container had a couple of different varieties all mixed together, so that’s what I used!)

Preheat oven to 350*.  Combine the first 5 ingredients in a large bowl; beat at medium speed until smooth. Add eggs, and beat well. Combine flour, oats, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Add flour mixture to banana mixture; beat at medium speed until well blended. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop by heaping tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart on a baking sheet sprayed with PAM. Bake for 18 minutes (Mine started to burn after 15 minutes, so watch carefully!!!) or until golden brown. Cool on pan for 2 minutes, then remove to cool completely on wire cookie racks. Makes 3 dozen good sized cookies.

100_1004

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

It’s My “Friday” Blah.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


