Blah.

July 20, 2009 at 3:42 pm 2 comments

I’m just not feeling “right” today, and I don’t know why. Probably because I lost my Maui Jim sunglasses over the weekend…..

Anyways, today’s eats:

Breakfast: Oatmeal with raisins and brown sugar

100_0895

Snack: Carrot Cake Clif Bar

100_1006

Lunch: Salad with Organic Spring Mix Lettuce, corn, black beans, blueberries, reduced fat mozzarella, and spray on raspberry vinegarette dressing

100_1009

A slice of Amish-made cinnamon swirl bread

100_1010

Pineapple

100_1011

Russel Stover’s Chocolate

100_1012

Snack: Saturn Peach

100_0993

BBQ Pop Chips (not too nuts about this flavor, but it’s the only flavor I can find ’round here.)

100_1008

Dinner: I’m thinkin’ black bean burger for me and smoked sausage for hubby. Probably with roasted baby red potatoes and fruit.

This weekend I had the opportunity to do something kind of fun. Hubby and I headed about a half hour north up to “Amish Country” and went to the Amish Bulk Food Store. This is where I am going to get all my baking supplies from now on!

I got 5.75 lbs of whole wheat flour for less than $3, 1.15 lbs of flax seed for $1.20, 1.27 lbs of steel cut groats for $0.79, plus a block of Muenster cheese for less than $2 (no pic, hubby was already breaking off a hunk!) and 2 cans of LaCroix sparkling water for $0.35 per can.

100_1000

 

Not only were the prices great, but so was the experience. I know a lot of people don’t live where Amish people do, but going into a store without lights was strange! (They have propane powered lamps that they turn on when it is dark.) Also, seeing the horse and buggy parked out front of the store and the amish kids with *gasp!* no shoes on in the store, really makes you feel like you are in a different world! It doesn’t seem unusual to me, but to someone who has never had to follow a horse and buggy down a busy road, it might seem a little odd!

I can’t wait to get home and look at my organic, pollen free, burgandy, black and yellow sunflowers! Maybe they will cheer me up.

100_0997

100_0998

100_0996

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Cookies!! Goals and Rewards

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danica  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Wow – all of your food cheered me up – it looks so good. LOVE the flowers. I’ve never heard of burgundy sun flowers – I need to look out for them.

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  July 22, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Holy cow, those prices are amazing! I wish I had something like that around here – although I suspect I would find similar if I explored some of the “ethnic markets.” No Amish though, here out west, but I have some good stories from a close friend from PA 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


