Limes

July 13, 2009 at 1:49 pm 2 comments

I went to the store this weekend with 2 limes on my grocery list. I grabbed my 2 limes for $1 and went on my way. Then I came across the reduced produce rack. It was there that I hit the mother load of limes!

I got a package of 18 limes (in all different sizes) for $0.99.

100_0955 

I expected that I would find a couple with bad spots once I opened the package, but I didn’t! I really didn’t need all those limes, so I stuck some in the fruit bowl, and set out to freeze the rest.

First I plopped them all in the sink for a nice bath.

100_0956

Then I dried them off and sliced each in half.

100_0959

I placed a sheet of waxed paper in the bottom of a metal pan (I used a 9×13 because I wanted a lip around the edge, but a cookie sheet would work, too). I then placed each lime half, cut side up, in the pan and slipped the pan into the freezer.

100_0957

After about 4 hours, the limes were well on their way to getting solid. I got out a gallon size freezer bag (Halloween design optional),  labeled it “LIMES” and added the date.

100_0960

I placed the lime halves in the bag and stuck it back into the freezer.

100_0961

Now, if I want some lime for cooking, or adding to my water or diet coke, all I need to do is open the bag and grab a half! Not bad for $0.99! I know my mom thought I was crazy when I was proudly showing off my great bargain, but I love fresh lime juice in lots of things…this just makes it a little more convienent, since I can’t just run to the corner store to buy limes. (I doubt our local/very small grocery store even carries limes…they usually only have wilted iceberg lettuce and brown bananas in their produce section!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

I Found This Interesting Lazy Days

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsey (Mrs. LC)  |  July 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Love the limes, that’s my kind of deal!

    Reply
  • 2. Hangry Pants  |  July 14, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    That’s a really good idea actually. I always end up omitting the lime from a recipe when I don’t have one lying around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


