Why Do I Drink So Much Soda?

July 8, 2009 at 8:43 am 4 comments

100_0899

Last night I was thinking about how I want to get healthier, and I realized that I really do have a bad Diet Coke habit. I stop every morning on my way to work and get a 44 ounce cup and it costs me $0.63. Any size at the store I go to is the same price, but I always get the biggest one since it is the best “deal”. But do I really need that much soda?

My routine is to drink soda all morning, then in the afternoon I get out my Nalgene or Klean Kanteen bottle and drink water. I really do enjoy the taste of Diet Coke, but I am coming to realize that I can enjoy it in a smaller size. I have also realized that I am often “hungry” all morning when I am sipping on my Diet Coke, even if I have eaten a hearty, well balanced breakfast and have snacked on fruit or veggies mid-morning. Is there a correlation? Maybe….

Today I decided to take new approach. I think I have been using my soda as a “boredom buster” at work. It’s a habit, nothing else. So this morning, I filled my Nalgene Camelback bottle with water and a splash of Crystal Light White Grape for flavor. Since that bottle has a straw built in, it was easy to drink on my way to work. I still stopped for my soda, but I got a 32 ounce today (and had to convince my self that it was still a “deal” for $0.63, even though I could have gotten a larger size for the same price). I know the smaller size will satisfy my craving and give me my morning caffine (no coffee for me!), and hopefully I will be encouraged to drink more water throughout the day.

Eventually I would like to cut down to 1 can sized soda per day. I don’t want to completely give it up, because I really do like the flavor. Has anyone else overcome thier diet soda addiction? How did you do it??

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Need to Get Back to It! Trying Harder!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen, a priorfatgirl  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I stopped cold turky but switched it with those little packets of goodness you can add to bottled water. Soon, I was drinking just as much water as I was soda. Then, slowly I stopped adding the packets and now I can do 70-80 ounces of pure water!

    I did however realize I prefer my water room temperature vs. cold so make sure to play around with the temperature to figure out which way you’ll drink more!

    Reply
  • 2. smallchangesaddup  |  July 8, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I’m not a big soda fan – coffee’s my main addiction! I drink much less than I used to though. I just started by cutting down slowly – it’s the best and easiest way I think. There’s no need to cut something you like out completely.

    Reply
  • 3. Danica  |  July 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    WTG at drinking water AND getting a smaller soda size. Baby steps will get you there.

    I used Carbonated Water (Arrowhead Flavored with 0 calories and no sugar or sugar free sweeteners) to help me kick my soda habit 3 years ago. If I wanted it to be a little sweeter, I’d mix it with a little juice.

    I STILL occassionally might have a diet root beer because I LOVE it…but for the most part soda doesnt’ even taste good to me anymore. I crave the bubbles and that is how fizzy water helps.

    Reply
  • 4. Erin  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I just stopped drinking it with lunch b/c I read several articles that link artificial sweeteners with your body’s craving for REAL sugar. I figured if I cut it out, that craving would subside, and it did. I still have a diet Pepsi after a bad night of no sleep, but that’s about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


