Greek Yogurt

July 6, 2009 at 12:32 pm 1 comment

I recently discovered the yummy goodness that is Greek style yogurt. There are very few places to purchase it around here, and if you do find it…it is VERY expensive (and never goes on sale!!). I have read about making your own Greek yogurt using nonfat plain regular yogurt, so I decided to give it a go.

I started with a large container of the store brand nonfat plain yogurt (it was on sale for cheap and I didn’t want to spend a ton in case this didn’t work out!), so cheese cloth, a strainer, and a large bowl.

100_0879

100_0880

Place the strainer over the bowl, the cheese cloth in the strainer, and all of the yogurt in the strainer.

100_0881

100_0882

Let it strain for about 12 hours. In the end, you will have a lot of liquid (which is the whey from the yogurt) in the bottom of the bowl, and some nice, thick, yogurt left in the strainer.

100_0887

I dumped my whey down the drain and put the yogurt back in the container it came in. I got about 1 1/4 cups of whey, and ended up with just over half of a container of yogurt. The yogurt has a little bit of a bitter flavor, but that can be fixed with a little bit of maple syrup and some fruit+granola!

100_0888

I have read conflicting ideas as to whether you should use nonfat or low fat yogurt when you do this…maybe the nonfat variety contributes to the bitter flavor….any ideas/thoughts/suggestions?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Funky Monkey Fruit Review Lots of Fruit!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bodybuilder  |  September 6, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Are there health benefits to doing this? Do you lose the (whey) protein?

    Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


