Funky Monkey Fruit Review

July 4, 2009 at 9:00 am Leave a comment

I found a new (to me at least!) product in the store the other day. It is the “Funky Monkey Jivealime Freeze Dried Fruit“. I love anything that is pineapple and the Jivealime flavor is pineapple with lime. I had never heard of the Funky Monkey brand before, but the bright packaging caught my eye as I was strolling through the dried fruit section at the grocery store.

100_0867

The nutritional information is great. This package was one serving (1 oz.) and had 110 calories, no fat, and 2 grams of fiber. The package boasts “100% Real Fruit, No Sugar Added” and the ingredients list backs that up: Freeze dried organic pineapple and lime juice.

100_0868

When I opened the package, I was hit by a strong smell of lime. I was unsure of what freeze dried fruit looked like, but I was expecting something totally different. The pieces are all diffent shapes and sizes, they are a yellowish brown color and they are “holey”, kind of like petrified wood!

100_0872

After the strong smell, I was nervous about my first bite. It was definately “Fruit That Crunches”, just like the label said! I felt like the lime flavor was a bit overpowering…I really didn’t taste any pineapple except as a little bit of an aftertaste. 

100_0873

 Overall, I don’t think I would buy this flavor again. $2 per 1 oz. bag is a little steep for something that was just ok….I would have like a more “tropical” taste, not just lime. I would, however, love to try their other flavors! If they are good, then this would be a great snack to stash in my desk drawer. I can see this satisfying a mid-afternoon sweet craving!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

CRAZY! Greek Yogurt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


