My Favorite “Lighter” Dinner

July 2, 2009 at 8:28 am 1 comment

Here is my lightened up recipe for Amy’s Week 1 Challenge!

The other night I had no clue what to make for dinner. I was really craving pizza (and hubby is ALWAYS up for pizza!), but didn’t want to spend the money or calories on our typical takeout large with mushrooms and extra cheese. So I decided to go homemade. I ended up making two pizzas to satisfy our different tastes, but that turned out ok…leftover pizza is always a great lunch.

I started out with this SUPER easy crust.

Crust
3 tsp. yeast
1 1/4 cups warm water
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Mix ingredients. Rise for 15 to 30 minutes. (I find that if I let it rise the entire thirty minutes, the crust is softer and less dense than if I only have time to let it rise for 15) Spread on greased pizza pan or baking sheet . Top with sauce, cheese, and desired toppings. Bake at 425 12-20 minutes.

I never really have a lot of “pizza fixin’s” in the house, so I usually just use whatever I can find. My hubby usually ends up with turkey pepperoni or diced up frozen meatballs, onion, garlic powder, canned or fresh mushrooms and reduced fat shredded mozzarella cheese.

My favorite combination for me is mushrooms, yellow/red/orange peppers, fresh pineapple chunks and reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese. Yum!! Of course, every time I make this, it turns out differently, but still good. This dough recipe is also great for making calzones/pizza pockets and breadsticks. It really is a quick and healthy take on my favorite (high calorie!) meal.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Mango Bread CRAZY!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  July 3, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Yum that sounds delicious 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


