Made Myself Do It

June 10, 2009 at 11:34 am 2 comments

I stopped off after work to run last night. It seems as if everything that could go wrong did. My Gramin died about 1/2 mile in, it was HOT, I was REALLY thirsty, and my necklace chain kept wrapping around my headphone cords and trying to strangle me (not really, but it was irritating!). So, I only did about 1.5 miles and called it quits. I had to stop off at the house we are moving into next week to get my Garmin charger, since I had already packed it thinking I wouldn’t need to charge it before we moved….wrong!

By the time I got home, I really wasn’t happy about making supper so I just threw a bunch of stuff together and called it good. I don’t think hubby really enjoyed it, but he didn’t complain!

Enchilada Casserole in a pie plate:

  • 1/2 lb extra lean ground beef, browned, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup diced sweet onion cooked with meat
  • 3/4 can corn
  • 3/4 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 can red enchilada sauce
  • 2 LaTortilla Factory Low Carb Tortillas
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese

Brown meat and onion, drain. Mix in corn, beans and enchilada sauce. Place one tortilla in bottom of greased pie plate. Add a layer of meat mixture and a sprinkling of cheese. Add another tortilla and the rest of the meat. Top with remaining cheese. Cover with foil and bake at 375 for 20 minutes.100_0754

I also threw in some refrigerator crossaints in a tube (which needed to bake at 375). Hubby ate most of these. I had one and a large bowl of watermelon.100_0753

This morning I got up at 5 and did a two mile run in light rain. It went well, but I over dressed, so I was too warm. At least I MADE MYSELF GET OUT THERE! It feels sooooo good to have my workout done already!

Breakfast: Same old boring oatmeal with brown sugar. My portion was a little larger than normal since I was starving after my run.

Snack: Banana

Lunch: German tomato soup, Kashi Crackers, Watermelon100_0745

100_0639

Snack: Celery with RF Peanut Butter100_0752

Can you tell I am low on groceries? Nothing too creative here! Tonight I have to go to the Secretary of State Office to verify my social security number and renew my drivers license. Hopefully the rain will hold off so I can take the puppies for a long walk when I get home!

Question of the day: I’m thinking about getting a Road ID, but I don’t know which style to get…ankle, shoe or wrist. Which one do you have and why do you like it?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Off to a Good Start! Whew!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melinda Pollard  |  June 10, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    That enchilada casserole looks good- my hubby loves mexican food!

    I need to crack open my watermelon- yours looks delish:D

    Reply
  • 2. Danica  |  June 11, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    YUM, YUM, YUM!!!! to that enchilada casserole – thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


