I Did It!

June 8, 2009 at 3:59 pm 1 comment

Saturday was my 5K race, and I was hoping to be able to run the whole thing. I was doubtful, since I have yet to run a continuous 3.1 miles during my training program, but I was willing to give it a try. It was chilly (51* at start!) but I still wore my black sleeveless top and neon pink running skirt! It was actually perfect running weather, especially since there was a little bit of a breeze.

I started out a little faster than I normally run, so I made myself keep around a 10 minute mile pace. I never really looked at my Garmin until about mile 2.6. I couldn’t believe I was that close to the end! I wasn’t tired, my legs weren’t heavy! I think running in the morning is something that works better for me, I am anxious to try it out tomorrow, even if it means getting up at 5 am!! Anyways, I felt so good Saturday (I really think it was the morning run time!) I knew I could go all the way. And I did.100_0747

Friday night I had told myself that if I could run the entire thing, I could sign up for THIS race. I never thought I would do it, but now I guess I need to convince hubby that we need to take a little vacation in October!

Again, I was way off course this weekend with birthday parties and a graduation open house, but I have jumped back into the swing of things today!

Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar

Snack: Banana

Lunch: 4 mini spinach quiches, celery with RF Peanut Butter, 15 Kashi Honey Sesame Crackers, Watermelon100_0744

100_0746

100_0745

Snack: Fiber One Bar

Supper will be homemade chicken nuggets, roasted red skin potatoes, some type of veggies and watermelon.

Off to the gym after work, I’m thinking a little weights and maybe some elliptical. I would like to get into Yoga, but don’t know where to start. I live in “Hickville” and there are not any places that actually do yoga classes nearby. Any suggestions for going at it alone?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Finally Friday! Blenders

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Meganerd  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks for checking out my blog!! 🙂 Don’t you love having the Garmin Forerunner? I don’t know how I ever lived without it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


