Positive Self Talk

June 3, 2009 at 1:33 pm 1 comment

I have been trying to practice some positive self talk when it comes to my running. I have noticed that when I run two miles and then “have” to stop or walk, it isn’t because I am hurting anywhere or even out of breath! It is all in my head that I can’t go any further. I think part of the problem is that I run on our local Rail-Trail (it used to be the railroad tracks and now it is a now a paved recreational trail that goes for 30 miles) and the trail is straight, flat and I start to notice geographical landmarks and correlate them to how much further I have to go (i.e. “when I get to that tree, I will have one mile done and one more to do!”). I fnd myself concentrating the whole time on “how much further”.

Last night I set out to push myself. I thought about everything but how much further. I only allowed myself to check my Garmin a couple of times to see my pace/distance. I told myself that I could go further! And you know what, I did.100_0722

I was proud of myself! I wasn’t tired! I didn’t collapse from exhaustion! I wanted to do it again (but not today, I need to rest as my legs are feeling a little rubbery.) Most of all, I was impressed with how much more enjoyable running is when you aren’t constantyly thinking about the distance. Maybe I can push myself to run the ENTIRE 5K race that Iam doing this weekend…maybe.

Eats: Dinner last night was leftover white chicken chili with a toasted Arnold Sandwhich Thin topped with a little Brummel and Brown butter spread, garlic powder and a melty mozzarella cheese slice. I also had about 3/4 cup of sherbert while I read later. No pictures (again!) my husband doesn’t know about this little endeavor and would not let me live it down if he caught me taking pictures of my dinner!

Breakfast: Arnold Sandwhich Thin with reduced fat peanut butter and a banana100_0723

Snack: Almonds and dried cranberries100_0726

Lunch: German Tomato Soup (from the freezer!), an ear of corn on the cob, and 1/2 of a green pepper. And I walked  1 1/2 miles round trip to the post office during lunch!100_0727

Snack: Fat free cottage cheese and a navel orange.100_0728

I’m not sure what dinner tonight will be. We might be going to hubby’s aunt’s house to take picnic tables over for his cousin’s open house this weekend. Might be a drive-thru night!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

New Distance Record (even if it is small!) So Busy!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jenna  |  January 23, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    just found your blog and i love reading it! i would love it if you could check out mineee 😉
    jenna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


