Mango Bread

June 30, 2009 at 9:48 am Leave a comment

I had some mangoes that needed to be used, so I decided to make mango bread. I wasn’t too fond of it (some of the mangoes had a “stringy” texture, which I could not stand!), but my family sure loved it! I think you could make this using eithe mangoes or peaches, and still end up with great results! I adapted this recipe from Baking with the Boys’ recipe.

Mango Bread

3/4 cup egg substitute
3/4  cup canola oil
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
2 heaping tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c (packed) light brown sugar
2 c diced mango
1 tsp lime juice

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8.5 x 4.5 inch loaf pan with non stick spray.  Put the pan on a baking sheet to keep from over baking. Whisk the egg substitute and oil together.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt.  Break up brown sugar lumps, then stir it in.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, switch to a wooden spoon and mix until blended — the batter will be very thick and not easily mixed, but  it will soon come together.  Stir in the mango and lime juice.  Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top .

Bake the bread for 1.5 hours, or until it is golden brown and a thin knife inserted ino the center comes out clean.  Cover with tin foil after 45 minutes if it is getting too brown, too fast. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before inverting pan.  Cool to room temperature right side up on the rack.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

It’s Friday! My Favorite “Lighter” Dinner

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed




I'm Becci, a twenty something from a small farming community in Michigan. I grew up on a farm and still live on one...I can't imagine it any other way! Although, I do love to travel and see the amazing places the world has to offer! I have always struggled with my weight and living a healthy lifestyle, but that's about to change! This is my journey to eating healthy, traveling, and hopefully accomplishing my goal of running a marathon all while enjoying the country life!

Upcoming Races

5/30/2010 - Toronto Women's Half Marathon

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

